Graphic Settings

General Discussion about Age of Empires III: Definitive Edition

Moderators: Global Moderator, Age Moderator

User avatar
rambo098
Captain
Captain
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Graphic Settings

Post by rambo098 »

I don't want to brag about my computer but, how many answering to this are playing with the highest settings? Or do you play with lower settingings just because you find it easier to navigate on the map?

Im just curious :D
Image

User avatar
Palehorse
Captain
Captain
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:17 pm

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Palehorse »

High Shadow, Very High Shaders, or vice versa
Bloom Effect on.
Every thing else on except no AA.

Some version of 1.6x:1 ratio for a wide screen monitor (1280x800 or 1600x960 or?).
Image

User avatar
Soccerman771
N3O Officer
N3O Officer
Posts: 2874
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:25 am
Location: Sachse, Texas (near Dallas)
Contact:

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Soccerman771 »

[quote=""Palehorse""]High Shadow, Very High Shaders, or vice versa
Bloom Effect on.
Every thing else on except no AA.

Some version of 1.6x:1 ratio for a wide screen monitor (1280x800 or 1600x960 or?).[/quote]

Call me a dummy, but what is Bloom Effect?

I can have high graphics on when I'm not on-line. When I go online, I turn everything down.
jtackel@hotmail.com

"Do you know how difficult it is to micro Napalm?" - Lazy_Tuga

"This isn't going to work. I've picked a water deck and there isn't even a pond on this map." - Blackadderthe4th

User avatar
Sporting_Lisbon
N3O Officer
N3O Officer
Posts: 5276
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:18 pm
Location: Lisboa

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Sporting_Lisbon »

*sniff sniff* My all 1200*1024, high poly models and everything else on low. I only have high poly models cause otherwise you can't see the difference between units. Everything else is off or low and it's still a bit slow :(

User avatar
Palehorse
Captain
Captain
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:17 pm

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Palehorse »

Bloom Effect - Only available on cards that support Shader Model 3.0 or higher. Gives the effect of hazy sunshine, glare, atmospheric fog or haze.
Image

TheRam
N3O Member
N3O Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:31 pm

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by TheRam »

I have everything on max, I'm running an Nvidia 8800GTX with 2gb ram

User avatar
Hydrovert5
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Hydrovert5 »

I personally turn all the setting up whether playing online or offline.

After all, I payed for this game so why not enjoy it to the full?

You get the occaisonal lag here and there but other than that, no other problems. :)

User avatar
Sporting_Lisbon
N3O Officer
N3O Officer
Posts: 5276
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:18 pm
Location: Lisboa

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Sporting_Lisbon »

Shadows are a big obstacle to micro tho.

User avatar
IndyBrit
N3O Officer
N3O Officer
Posts: 1318
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:53 am
Location: Indianapolis

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by IndyBrit »

All low, low, low. 1024 by 768 or something, on my 24" monitor. The dudes are like 3 inches tall but only get 6x4 pixels. It's awesome. However, I find micro-response unlivable and my computer occasionally locks up if I turn anything up, so I'm learning to be happy. The trees look like Lee Trevino's Fighting Golf (bonus points to anyone that has a clue what I just said. lol).

StrokeyBlofeld
Clan Leader
Clan Leader
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:36 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by StrokeyBlofeld »

1440 x 900 max settings.

Navarone_Guy
Honorary Officer
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:02 am
Location: Over there

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Navarone_Guy »

All on the lowest settings. :D
Groovy.

User avatar
Soccerman771
N3O Officer
N3O Officer
Posts: 2874
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:25 am
Location: Sachse, Texas (near Dallas)
Contact:

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Soccerman771 »

[quote=""IndyBrit""]All low, low, low. 1024 by 768 or something, on my 24" monitor. The dudes are like 3 inches tall but only get 6x4 pixels. It's awesome. However, I find micro-response unlivable and my computer occasionally locks up if I turn anything up, so I'm learning to be happy. The trees look like Lee Trevino's Fighting Golf (bonus points to anyone that has a clue what I just said. lol).[/quote]

;)

Bonus points for me..
jtackel@hotmail.com

"Do you know how difficult it is to micro Napalm?" - Lazy_Tuga

"This isn't going to work. I've picked a water deck and there isn't even a pond on this map." - Blackadderthe4th

Blackadderthe4th
N3O Officer
N3O Officer
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:01 am
Location: Coventry, UK

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Blackadderthe4th »

Everything on Max.

I used to play on an alrightish computer where I could have high settings on most things but no shadows. When I bought my new computer and put shadows on I couldn't believe the difference it made to the aesthetics of the game, everything suddenly seemed to come to life, having a lot more depth and realism. Just an interesting note on how something as simple and overlooked as shadows can change the whole appearance of a game, something I have noticed on other games too.

User avatar
ruminator
Major
Major
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: At work, as usual

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by ruminator »

I have turned down the settings. While I used to admire the graphics when I first played the game, who honestly has time to watch the reflections on the water in an online match!

The screen moves around so quickly now and to ensure lag is at a minimum I only have on what I need - so no water effects, bloom etc.
"Could you, would you, with a goat? Would you, could you, on a boat?" Doctor Seuss

"Why does the Air Force need expensive new bombers? Have the people we've been bombing over the years been complaining?"
George Wallace

User avatar
Roger_The_Rogue
N3O Member
N3O Member
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: Kaapstad, Suid Afrika

Re: Graphic Settings

Post by Roger_The_Rogue »

Everything on low as I have a pretty old pc, but not as old as Crazen's. Lol. Planning to buy laptop in near future, but just have to save $$$ first. :(

Post Reply