connection problem

Everything tech-related is discussed here

Moderator: Global Moderator

StrokeyBlofeld
Clan Leader
Clan Leader
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:36 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

connection problem

Post by StrokeyBlofeld »

Here's a little problem that has me a little stumped, anyone that can offer up any ideas gets a big line of smilies!!!

I have been having my connection cut out on me the last couple of days, very randomly. Sometimes it's fine, then I cannot connect.

I am on a high speed cable connection. (normaly around 16meg). I have bypassed my router and have it connected directly to my ethernet port.

I've done a series of ping tests under DOS and it seems I'm having data loss somewhere.

See below for the tests (I did many more but this is to show what is happening).

I'm pretty sure there isn't a problem with my OS and I don't have any hardware problems that I know of. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim>ping http://www.bbc.co.uk

Pinging http://www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.253.70] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 212.58.253.70: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=246
Reply from 212.58.253.70: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=246
Reply from 212.58.253.70: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=246
Reply from 212.58.253.70: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=246

Ping statistics for 212.58.253.70:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 24ms, Average = 15ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim>ping http://www.bbc.co.uk

Pinging http://www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.253.70] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 212.58.253.70: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=246

Ping statistics for 212.58.253.70:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 13ms, Average = 13ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim>ping http://www.bbc.co.uk

Pinging http://www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.224.86] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 212.58.224.86: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=247
Reply from 212.58.224.86: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=247
Reply from 212.58.224.86: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=247
Reply from 212.58.224.86: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=247

Ping statistics for 212.58.224.86:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 26ms, Average = 17ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim>ping http://www.bbc.co.uk

Pinging http://www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.224.86] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 212.58.224.86: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=247
Reply from 212.58.224.86: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=247

Ping statistics for 212.58.224.86:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 14ms, Average = 12ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim>ping http://www.bbc.co.uk

Pinging http://www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.224.86] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 212.58.224.86:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim>ping http://www.bbc.co.uk

Pinging http://www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.224.86] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Reply from 212.58.224.86: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=247
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 212.58.224.86:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 15ms, Average = 15ms

User avatar
Comadevil
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2114
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 4:55 am
AOE3 Nickname: Comadevil

Re: connection problem

Post by Comadevil »

Instead of "ping" use "tracert". Maybe then u can see where on the route u lose it

djdan
N3O Member
N3O Member
Posts: 1660
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:03 am
Steam: SpanktheMonkey
AOE3 Nickname: djdan

Re: connection problem

Post by djdan »

Try re-installing your router and internet provider CD thing 8) 8) 8)
I'm a computer expert :roll:
From the OP maker of the OP Sigs, Cleeduz brings maybe some of his best work yet!
Image

StrokeyBlofeld
Clan Leader
Clan Leader
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:36 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: connection problem

Post by StrokeyBlofeld »

[quote=""djdan""]Try re-installing your router and internet provider CD thing 8) 8) 8)
I'm a computer expert :roll:[/quote]

LMAO. Ok Dan, so... how do I install my router when I don't have one in use? (I've removed it for the duration of the problem). Oh, and my modem doesn't need re-installing either.... you just plug it in and go.........

You really must have known that you would embaress yourself posting a reply here Dan????? ;)

StrokeyBlofeld
Clan Leader
Clan Leader
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:36 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: connection problem

Post by StrokeyBlofeld »

If your wondering why I removed my router from my set-up, it's because my broadband supplier does not "officialy" support routers. So basicaly a router will work (as it does with any set-up) but they won't provide any help if your set-up has one in use.

djdan
N3O Member
N3O Member
Posts: 1660
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:03 am
Steam: SpanktheMonkey
AOE3 Nickname: djdan

Re: connection problem

Post by djdan »

Whats there to be embarrassed about. Just posting my '2 cents'.
How about moving houses? That would solve all problems, and then if problem persists, buy a new computer!! ;)
From the OP maker of the OP Sigs, Cleeduz brings maybe some of his best work yet!
Image

StrokeyBlofeld
Clan Leader
Clan Leader
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:36 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: connection problem

Post by StrokeyBlofeld »

heh heh, moving house would be good I guess. As long as it had a bigger garden and 4 bedrooms!!!

An engineer came round this morning while I was at work, he put in a new modem, but I think he was trying to fobb off my missus as he said there was nothing wrong with the other modem and it was a problem with my internet explorer. How he came to that conclusion I really don't know.

Since I came home from work my connection has been fine and as fast as ever, so fingers crossed it was a faulty modem, but I've only been online for about 2 hours..... I'll see how it goes........

User avatar
Comadevil
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2114
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 4:55 am
AOE3 Nickname: Comadevil

Re: connection problem

Post by Comadevil »

[quote=""StrokeyBlofeld""]
An engineer came round this morning while I was at work, he put in a new modem, but I think he was trying to fobb off my missus as he said there was nothing wrong with the other modem and it was a problem with my internet explorer. How he came to that conclusion I really don't know.
[/quote]
Because in most of the cases the problem sits in front of the computer. ;)
At least as a administrator in a big network i can tell you this, though sometimes also something is really wrong.

He was just sent for standard procedure: Changing the modem. But thought: Strokey should configure his computer properly and shouldn't listen to the 1000 tips in the last computer magazine ;)
But i also think the modem was broken

User avatar
NEO_CrAz3n
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 776
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: connection problem

Post by NEO_CrAz3n »

Because in most of the cases the problem sits in front of the computer.
LOL
"Please accept my resignation. I don't care to belong to any club that will have me as a member." -Groucho Marx

"Any strat that beats me is lame." -CrAz3n

"Quoting yourself is just as bad as speaking about yourself in the third-person." -CrAz3n

User avatar
MNBob
Honorary Officer
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:09 am
Location: Victoria, MN

Re: connection problem

Post by MNBob »


StrokeyBlofeld
Clan Leader
Clan Leader
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:36 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: connection problem

Post by StrokeyBlofeld »

Nice link Bob! lol.

Before I called my provider, I did all the standard user checks, and only when I felt it wasn't a problem at my end did I call them. I would say somewhere between 80% and 90% of the calls providers get relating to a problem with their service turns out to be a "PEBKAC" as Bob so kindly showed us.....

I'm 99% sure it is ok now after having no problems since I came back from work earlier, but time will tell. If the problem arises again I'll have to dig deeper to see if it could be a problem my end.

If it does happen again, and my provider continues to claim it is a problem my end then I'll just put a new hard drive in and a fresh install to prove them wrong.

Here's my thoughts, how can the engineer claim there is something wrong with my internet explorer when I tested 3 different computers on the modem yesterday before calling them? Also, 1 of these computers hasn't been connected to the internet for over 3 months.

So, if it is a problem my end, then it must be a huge fricken coincidence that I have 3 computers with the same problem!!!!

User avatar
MNBob
Honorary Officer
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:09 am
Location: Victoria, MN

Re: connection problem

Post by MNBob »

I hate ISP related issues. I always call them. I always sit on hold for a long time. I always have to give them the same information every time. I always have to be told that they'll schedule a tech to come to my house. I always wait for a tech to show up and before he does any problems go away. When the tech finally does come he fiddles around with the cable modem for a bit and leaves.

Eventually another problem comes up and the whole process repeats itself.

User avatar
Comadevil
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2114
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 4:55 am
AOE3 Nickname: Comadevil

Re: connection problem

Post by Comadevil »

[quote=""StrokeyBlofeld""]

Here's my thoughts, how can the engineer claim there is something wrong with my internet explorer when I tested 3 different computers on the modem yesterday before calling them? Also, 1 of these computers hasn't been connected to the internet for over 3 months.

So, if it is a problem my end, then it must be a huge fricken coincidence that I have 3 computers with the same problem!!!![/quote]

This is callcenter business. Callcenter employees also don't have much knowledge.
So engineers rely only on what they can see at the specific location. And they rely on standard procedures which solve most of the problems. IF they come a second time and they haven't read your file then Good Night.

User avatar
I__CHAOS__I
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 3007
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:55 am
Location: ??

Re: connection problem

Post by I__CHAOS__I »

djdan = OP IT specialist :D
reboot the internet yeah!

I also hate ISP problems, waiting on the phone, getting some nub asking you to delete your cookies etc ... terrible
Image
Wisdom is the supreme part of happiness. - Sophocles
Happiness belongs to the self-sufficient. - Aristotle

StrokeyBlofeld
Clan Leader
Clan Leader
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:36 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: connection problem

Post by StrokeyBlofeld »

Well, at least I can be happy that they got an engineer to me the following morning, and although I'm not entirely happy with him, I can't knock them for being reasonably helpfull and also they are refunding the call charges for calling them with the problem. The call charges would be quite a lot as I was on the phone to them for a total of around 60 mins, and the cost is 25p per min (£15). So it's not all bad I guess......

I've had providers before that offer terrible support, eg: customer support is number in the Northern Regions of Outer Mongolia where a Pakistani answers who you cannot understand and doesn't have a clue resulting in them telling you (after asking them to repeat it 16 times) "it's your problem but we can book an engineer and you will be charged for the call out". and that's another reason I switched.

Post Reply