Help wanted

Everything tech-related is discussed here

Moderator: Global Moderator

Blackadderthe4th
N3O Officer
N3O Officer

Help wanted

Post by Blackadderthe4th »

As some of you may know I'm looking to upgrade my 4 year old PC. Well I decided not to bother upgrading and just buy a new rig! :) But as I have never done a complete build before I was hoping to check some things with you guys. I've done my research and decided that this is the build for me:

Case: Antec 1200 Twelve Hundred Full Tower Case + Antec CP850 850W Modular PSU - *ONLY COMPATIBLE WITH ANTEC 1200 P183 AND P193 CASES*

Motherboard: Asus RAMPAGE III EXTREME X58 Socket 1366 8 Channel Audio Republic Of Gamers ATX Motherboard

CPU: Intel i7 930 2.8GHz Socket 1366 8MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor

CPU fan: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro rev 2 Socket 775, 1156, 1366, AM2, AM3 Heatpipe CPU Cooler

Ram: Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz XMS3 Dominator Memory CL8(8-8-8--24) for i7 Motherboards

Graphics:
Sapphire HD 5970 2GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini Display Port Out PCI-E Graphics Card (i know but):

Monitors:
3 x BenQ G2420HDBE 24" LCD Monitor 16:9 Widescreen Full HD 1920x1080 300cd/m2 40,000:1 (Dynamic) 5ms DVI-D / VGA 2yr Onsite SWAP Warranty - Gloss Black (will set this up in eyefinity)

Hard drive:Hitachi Deskstar 0S02573 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 32MB Cache retail boxed kit

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Complete package - 1 PC - DVD - English - United Kingdom

Optical Drives:
2 x Samsung SH-S223L 22x DVD±RW DL & RAM with LightScribe SATA Optical Drive - Retail Box Black

Well thats the build I'm looking at. I intend to have 3 monitors in eyefinity which is why I choose the bulky 5970. I think I have chosen quality parts but like I said I'm this is my first time so I guess I'm looking for some help from experienced hands who can suggest and changes, upgrades or point out obvious incompatibilities. Any hints or tips for when I'm putting this all together would be welcome too.